Story of a couch…or couches to be precise.

I ordered a wonderful Pottery Barn sectional with ivory linen-cotton slip covers back in October. Super sale and I was excited to hear it would only be two weeks until delivery. But I wisely (or so I thought) held off selling my old couch until I knew it would be on its way. I decided to call to check on its status and was told … Thanksgiving week. Yay! But again I wanted to hold off until I got the call to set up delivery. I did call back and it was on its way and I would get a call between these dates. Okay I think – it’s time. Couch goes on Sunday. A phone call on Tuesday tells me no couch until maybe the 16th or 23rd of December.

This no seating thing just wasn’t going to work. Only had to do it for three days but not a good thing when I really don’t even have any good chairs. So Wednesday morning I plan to make the rounds of the thrift shops and stop at Habitat Restore first. This couch stood out like a beacon amid the usual couches found. I sat on it and patted it and tried to repel advancing perspective buyers. Tipped by an employee that I should hold on to the price tag if I was interested, I fretted and pondered for 30 minutes. I only knew this because when I finally .. finally.. went up to buy it.. and asked if they knew which one I was buying…I was told .. uh huh.. the one you were sitting on for 30 minutes. Funny.

It came from a high-end consignment shop that donates to Habitat and I didn’t have the first qualm about bringing it home. I have always liked finding art and other treasures and wooden pieces, but had always had doubts regarding upholstered pieces. But honestly, this couch has felt like ‘home’ to me. And I can’t quite place why.

On an even brighter note… that very day.. within hours of buying my perfect find…I received a phone call telling me my sectional will be in place, in my great room, this Sunday morning. Oh happy day! My plan has always been to have two seating areas. One for tv viewing and one to cozy up in front of the fireplace to read and chat. It’s just happening now sooner than I had envisioned.

