Chicellarose's Blog

Musings on life, family, and the leading interest of the day..

So every morning I’ve been getting up to get to the barn early and help get all the horses into the barn where fans and shade can help keep them cool in these days with temperatures over 100. I ended up staying for several hours each day and then have straggled home for some cool relief and tried to muster up energy to do anything else. I did get some errands run, but for the most part have read and watched movies. And pondered paint colors and furniture rearranging.

I just finished ‘The Underside of Joy’ by Sere Prince Halverson. A great book. But also an eye-opener. My dad was Italian-American with parents that came from Italy. I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before and mentioned that he never taught us Italian. I always thought it was because he grew up poor and was ashamed. But after reading this book, I think maybe there was more to it. I never knew that Italians were detained in the US during World War II in camps and were under curfew with other restrictions. How did I never learn this? And there were posters and strong encouragement to only speak English and not to speak the enemy’s language. I don’t have my dad or other relatives still around to ask, but I just wonder was this the real reason for not teaching us Italian. Sad.

 

 

2 Responses to “New things learned”

  1. Food Stories

    I never knew that about the Italians & WWII, either …. Enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for my Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … foodstoriesblog dot com & then click on “Illuminating Blogger Award Site” in the upper right-hand corner … Either way, hope you’re having a great weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

